The suspended sun behind a flooding audition.

December 21, 2010

I had a strange dream last night:

I cannot tell if the sun is rising or setting early. Either way, I’ve never seen such a blend of contrasting pastels around the sun. To my left is a fenced in area with bleachers packed to bursting with spectators. I walk onto what I assumed was the stage, but it was unlike one I had ever seen. It was like an elongated hill–a curved rectangle that sloped downward on the front and back. Two great square, red walls anchored each side. I walked to the center and looked behind me at the sun. Light blues swirled with pastel orange, pink, and golden yellow but never mixed. The sun was beating like a heart, becoming brighter each time it expanded, and dimmer each time it contracted.

Every time I walked the length of the stage, everyone cheered; there must have been tens of thousands of people in the bleachers. I felt like I was auditioning for something but I had already gotten it, due to the condition of the sky. After the sixth time, water oozed onto the stage area. It covered the ground slowly at first but with every surge it rose a little higher, getting my shoes wet and causing me to curse at it. The sound of rushing water filled my ears and the water rose to my waist, but was not touching me, only the splashes of the crashing waves splashed small amounts onto my clothing. I quickly walked to the right end of the stage and as I reached the ground below, I looked behind me and saw Coldplay coming out from behind the red wall and out on the stage, to the cheers of everybody. I ran toward the first fence and hopped it, worried that everyone would see me, and then did the same for the second fence until I reached the parking lot. I opened my car door and hit the car next to me. The black window rolled down and the man in the drivers seat told me not to worry about it. I woke up.

Leave a Reply

