Whiney wails, bolts of lightning, and intelligent water.

April 25, 2009

I had a strange dream last night:

I was standing across from a granite-type building, the size of which escaped my comprehension. It was essentially 2 rectangles, the rear one reached so far into the sky that i could not see it’s roof. The front one was no more than 2 stories tall and was graced with 2 giant oak arched doors. Nothing else was in sight. 

My eyes were drawn to the doors, as i felt something moving from within the building. The force of that movement within the building intensified, carrying my intrigue along with it. Moments after that, the doors were thrown open and the sound of wails poured down the steps but they were not wails of sorrow. It was unlike anything i had ever heard and sounded incredibly sublime. Overpowering.

This sound reached the bottom of the stairs that lead up to the doors and seemed to hover there, continuing it’s song, at which point my heart burst into flames, throwing fire toward the steps. I felt no pain but i could feel the force of the fire as it traveled up my chest and into my head, causing my eyes to catch fire as well. Again, no pain, just a very acute sensation. As this transpired, the wailing slightly changed tone which caused my eyes to water. As tears formed in the midst of the fire coming from my eyes i heard the sizzling and popping noises.

I walked into this building and went to the middle of the smaller area in the front. I opened my mouth and the purest water came from it, forming a pool at my feet. I looked into the water and, speechless, watched a form take shape in the water that was me, but not me at the same time. I cannot find the words to describe what i/not i looked like but it looked back at me and with its mouth, formed the word “true”. Upon realizing that word, my body seized slightly and i went into a state of shock which was rapidly followed by some kind of ecstatic feeling that permeated every cell in my body. My mouth was forced open and i wailed just like the one that came from the doors and out onto the steps. I had no breath with which to use as i wailed, it just came from my “core”.

The doors slammed shut and i was struck by a giant bolt of lightning, causing brilliant wings to rapidly sprout from my back. This hurt a great deal, as they literally grew right out of me, causing me to scream in pain. I collapsed onto the floor and these wings wrapped around my body, covering me completely and lifted the water from the pool in front of me; the water took the form of me and was singing with such a clear and beautiful voice in a language i did not recognize. I woke up.

P.s. I cannot sing for shit in real life.

Leave a Reply

